[WARNING – Contains retrospective, mushy thoughts and a stereotypically corny picture]

Done. Dusted. There’s a university experience and a half to add to the old CV.

University has left me an older, slightly wiser, wannabe life-changer with barely a worry in the world except for ending up unhappy and alone *fingers crossed*. It gave me freedom from the kindly clutches of my parental households (split family – sympathy vote) and time to cook, clean, err and umm and generally decide on undeciding. Admittedly cooking and cleaning weren’t high on my University priority list, as my housemates will bitterly confirm.

These four years have absolutely flown by and despite varying productivity levels, interest in my course and relationship status, it has been bloomin’ brilliant. For those of you who can relate, let’s be honest, undergraduate life enables you to do exactly what you want, when you want, without the obligatory questions about whether what you’re wanting to do is completely justified. Spending the whole day nursing a hangover with Netflix for company? We’ve all been there. Spending the whole day watching Netflix without the excuse of a hangover? Most of us have been there too. I recently read that article in the Oxford Tab, unscrupulously nullifying all degrees not born of Oxbridge. While I could rant on against that particular argument or indeed make my own against anyone not at a Russell Group University, I’ll keep it simple. You know whether or not your time has been spent wisely. If you’ve spent all of your time intoxicated or suffering from prior intoxication then only you can know if that was worth the fees and time you paid (fees which aren’t actually in excess, but that’s another issue). The rest of us can just judge/not judge depending on our specific flavour of relative snobbishness.

From the somewhat awkward experience of introductions to other clueless freshers – “Name? Course?” *instantly forget both* – to the feeling of almost justifiable disdain for the year groups following, I’m ready to move on. Ready to forget the abundance of probably useless maths that I’ve been attempting to apply for the last 16 or so years, forget the sleepless nights when coursework deadlines or exams were looming and ignore the already forgotten memories of multiple nights out. With a bit of luck I’ll even move into the real world at some point (wherever that is). For me personally, it has been more than worth it. I’ll use my degree to open doors where it can and the confidence I’ve regained hopefully to open the rest. Positivity is still key.

Most of the time I spend writing these blogs I’m completely immersed in what I’m doing, it flows right out of the linguistic, creative hemisphere of my brain that thinks anyone and everyone wants to hear what I have to say and lights up the internet page like a camp-fire at midday. The other segment of the time I consider the impact my laptop would make on the wall opposite and the frugal rationalist in me quietly hints at what a belligerently idiotic move that would be. Right now, I’m well into the positive spectrum, loving life and ready to do something big, see something great. I’m hoping you’ll agree.

I’ll spend the next month or so pondering the year(s) ahead and then I go to India and begin something that isn’t a university-style life. If you’re anywhere near a similar mindset then take confidence from the fact that you’re definitely not alone, mistakes are only mistakes if you don’t learn from them and if something seems hard, that probably means it’s worth doing [Insert more clichés if appropriate].

Those of you reading this who’ve been actively involved in my last four years, in whatever capacity, thank you. It’s been quite something. I hope you can say the same!

the-beginning-note

